Listen Now
Pledge Now


Primary results set commissioner district matchups and Races take form in city elections

Primary results set commissioner district matchups

Tuesday’s primary settled the races for county commissioner in the two contested districts.

In Commissioner District One, Kristin DeArruda Wharton polled 127 votes and Frank Moe had 86. Harry Drabik came in third with a respectable 73 votes.

Steve Fleace had 40 votes, John Bockovich, 20 and Jerry Hiniker, 6. Three precincts are counted in District One: Colvill, Grand Portage and Hovland.

In Commissioner District Five, incumbent Bruce Martinson led the field of four with 169 votes, Ginny Storlie came in second with 130. Stan Tull had 73 and Tim Goettl came in with 68 votes. Four precincts are counted in the district: Lutsen, Schroeder, Tofte and Pike Lake.

In the November 4 General Election, Jan Sivertson is running unopposed in District Three and it will be Wharton and Moe facing off in One, Martinson and Storlie in Five.

Races take form in city elections

Filings for city and school board positions closed yesterday with some last minute filings. For the Grand Marais Mayor’s position Jay Arrowsmith Decoux will face Lawrence Scully.

There are two seats open on the city council and four candidates have filed: are Dave Mills, Vance Benedix, Reed Dusheck and Anton Moody.
For ISD166 school board, seats for Districts 1, 3 and 5 are up for election. Jeanne Anderson has filed for District 5, and Deb White has filed for District 1. Both are incumbents. No filed for District 3. Hospital board incumbents Howard Abrahamson, Thomas Spence and Sharon Bloomquist have all filed.