Listen Now
Pledge Now


WTIP wins four AP news awards


Winners in the 2013 Minnesota Associated Press Broadcasters news contest have been announced. WTIP will take home four at the Midwest Journalism Conference in Bloomington on March 28.

In the Feature category, the station won two Honorable Mentions:
"Arrowhead Transit: All Aboard!" by Veronica Weadock and "Artist Open House: Lenna Stever," by Jay Andersen.

In the Series and Specials category, First Place went to "The Lake Superior Project," by Kelly Schoenfelder. Best Documentary went to "History Speaks: The Boundary Waters," by Ada Igoe.

AP news awards are given to Minnesota stations in categories based upon their staff sizes.