Listen Now
Pledge Now


Scenic Route

Local & Regional Music

A showcase of local and regional music.

What's On:
Joshua Schmidt

Joshua Schmidt returns to the Scenic Route with new music

Joshua Schmidt of Step Rockets returns to his roots in Cook County ahead of a weekend of shows at Lutsen Resort. He stops by WTIP to talk with Will Moore about new music from Step Rockets as well as new solo material. He shares some of these songs and even performs one live on the Scenic Route.


Colleen Myhre

Colleen Myhre plays live on Scenic Route

Colleen Myhre hails from Mahtowa, MN, and brings a strong, bluesy voice to venues across the Northland. She chats with Will Moore about her musical background, telling stories through songs, and what to expect from her upcoming third album. 


Cover of New Set of Eyes

Joe Paulik and Al Oikari talk about "New Set of Eyes"

Local Cook County musicians Joe Paulik and Al Oikari are back to talk about their latest collaboration - a new album from Paulik produced by Oikari called "New Set of Eyes". Paulik details the stories behind several of the songs on the record, many of which were written decades ago, and how this collection of love songs came together and was recorded.


Richie and Gabe

Polkarioty perform live on Sidetracks

Richie Yurkovich and his wife Gabe are fixtures in the Wisconsin polka community with the group Polkarioty, playing all over the upper Midwest. They joined Will and Carl Solander on a special Oktoberfest Sidetracks. This session was recorded live on 9/28/18.


Cover of "Sorrows always Swim"

Pushing Chain talks about new record "Sorrows Always Swim"

North Shore folky-tonk duo Pushing Chain return with a new album called "Sorrows Always Swim", their second full-length release featuring a dozen original songs recorded in Austin TX. Guitarist Boyd "Bump" Blomberg and fiddler Adam Moe join Will Moore to talk about what went into their latest record, and play the title track live on The Scenic Route.


Cover of "Letting Go"

Paco Fralick interview on Scenic Route

Paco Fralick is an Ojibwe songwriter from Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin. He was the recipient of three awards at Indian Summerfest in Milwaukee. He is also nominated for 5 Native American Music Awards this October. He talks with Will Moore about his 2017 album "Letting Go", diving into the stories behind some of the songs, and talks about releasing his first record after playing music for over 30 years.

Voting for the 2018 NAMA awards can be found here:


Gordon Thorne, Randy Sabien, Jim Elverhoy

Gordon Thorne, Randy Sabien, Jim Elverhoy on WTIP

Wisconsin fiddler Randy Sabien joins local guitarist Gordon Thorne and harmonica player Jim Elverhoy for special live music session. 


Ghost Wagon

Ghost Wagon interview on Scenic Route

Ghost Wagon is a band out of the Twin Cities with country rock vibes and a second album on the way. Lead singer and songwriter Chuck Nelson and guitarist John Mack join Will Moore on the Scenic Route to talk about their music ahead of a show at the Wunderbar in Grand Marais.


The Federales

The Federales make Scenic Route debut

The Federales are a country rock band from Minneapolis, proudly playing a truly American style of music in the North. With a new sophomore album on the horizon, they join Will Moore and Joni Peterson on the Scenic Route ahead of a long Labor Day weekend full of shows at the Gunflint Tavern in Grand Marais.

The Federales are:
Ben Miller - guitar, vocals
James Gould- electric guitar
Mark Larson - drums
Chris Holm- bass
Jay Scabich - fiddle


Monroe Crossing

Monroe Crossing returns to The Scenic Route

Acclaimed Minnesota bluegrass band Monroe Crossing returns to the North Shore for their annual performance at the Arrowhead Center for the Arts in Grand Marais. Hear them play five rousing songs live on the air and talk about life on the road, playing music on cruises, and a new album that combines choral music with their signature bluegrass sound.

Monroe Crossing is:

Lisa Fuglie - fiddle, vocals
Matt Thompson - mandolin, vocals
Derek Johnson - guitar, vocals
David Robinson - banjo, harmonica, vocals
Mark Anderson - bass, vocals