Weather Alert
Rhonda Silence

Cook County election results for 2020

The following are the unofficial results of the local elections in Cook County from the Nov. 3 election as compiled by the WTIP news staff.

Cook County Board of Commissioners
–Ann Sullivan has defeated Dean Berglund to be the next Cook County Commissioner representing District 4 (Maple Hill, Gunflint Trail)… Sullivan 476 – Berglund 407.

— The Cook County Commissioner District 2 winner is Stacey Hawkins with 352 votes. Hawkins defeated incumbent Myron Bursheim, who brought in 247 votes.

–Advancing to the special election for District 1 are Paula Marie Powell and Robert Svaleson. Powell earned 283 votes and Svaleson, 202.

Grand Marais City Council
Incumbent Mayor Jay Arrowsmith DeCoux has retained the mayoral seat with 448 votes. Challenger Kelly Swearingen earned 405 votes.

Swearingen will remain in her council seat.

The four-way race for the two city council seats on the ballot ended with incumbent Craig Schulte being re-elected with 458 votes.

The second vote-getter who will now join the city council was Michael Garry with 337 votes.

Diane Greeley received 307 votes and Mike Smieja, 212.

ISD 166 School Board
For the School District 166 District 4 race to fill the school board seat vacated when Sissy Lunde decided not to run for re-election.

Running as write-in candidates were Lindsey Gau and Stephanie Radloff. In a very close finish, Radloff won the seat with 209 votes. Gau finished with 201 votes.

Carrie Jansen of District 2 was unopposed and was re-elected to the school board.

State and National
District 3A Rep. Rob Ecklund (DFL) retained his seat in the Minnesota House.

State Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL) also won his reelection bid Tuesday night to continue representing District 3.

Incumbent Rep. Pete Stauber (GOP) won reelection for Minnesota’s Eighth Congressional District.

Cook County residents overwhelming voted for presidential candidate Joe Biden with nearly 66 percent going to the former vice president.

In the audio below, WTIP’s Joe Friedrichs talks with some of the winning candidates.