Iditarod 2024

March 13 Morning Update: Anna Hennessy Departs Koyuk – Headed Towards White Mountain, then Nome

Anna Hennessy remains steadfast in her Iditarod race. After traversing the Yukon River, from Ruby to Kaltag, she has made it to the official last leg of the historic race.

As of the morning of March 13, Anna Hennessy departed Koyuk (mile 804) and is headed to White Mountain, one of the last checkpoints before reaching the finish line in Nome.

She is still running with 13 dogs and is currently holding on to 24th place in the Iditarod race.

Once she reaches White Mountain, Anna Hennessy will take a mandatory 8-hour break before heading for the final Nome checkpoint.

In other Iditarod news, one of the biggest names in the sport, Dallas Seavey, came from behind after a moose attack to win the grueling, dayslong contest on March 12 for an unprecedented sixth time.

Seavey, 37, finished the 52nd Iditarod in 9 days, 2 hours, 16 minutes and 8 seconds and won just over $55,000 for first place.

Seavey’s name is found throughout the Iditarod record book. In 2005, he became the youngest musher to run in the race, and in 2012, its youngest champion.

Seavey also won Iditarod championships in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2021. He had previously been tied with now-retired musher Rick Swenson with five titles apiece.

Seavey’s family history is deeply entwined with the Iditarod. His grandfather, Dan Seavey, helped organize and ran the first Iditarod in 1973, and his father, Mitch Seavey, is a three-time champion.

Top five Iditarod winners:

#1 – Dallas Seavey – 9d 2h 16m 8s

#2 – Matt Hall – 9d 6h 57min 56s

#3 – Jessie Holmes – 9d 8h 18m 4s

#4 – Jeff Deeter – 9d 11h 52m 35s

#5 – Paige Drobny – 9d 13h 12m 26s