Cook County and WTIP listening area election results for 2022
WTIP file photo

Cook County and WTIP listening area election results for 2022

The following are the unofficial results of the local elections in Cook County from the Nov. 8 election as compiled by the WTIP news staff.

Cook County Board of Commissioners

-Deb White has defeated Yastrianne ‘Yanne” Spry to be the next Cook County Commissioner representing District 1. White 238 – Spry 149

– The Cook County Commissioner District 2 winner is incumbent Stacey Hawkins with 450 votes. Hawkins ran unopposed following the withdrawal of David S. Berglund in October. Berglund announced his withdrawal but remained on the ballot and received 117 votes.

-Cook County Commissioner District 3 David Mills ran unopposed and won with 588 votes.

-Advancing in District 4 is incumbent Ann Sullivan with 494 votes. Opponent Theresa Luther-Dolan was defeated with 243 votes.

-In District 5 incumbent Ginny Storlie defeated Bruce Martinson for Cook County Commissioner. Storlie 341- Martinson 283.

Grand Marais City Council

-Tracy Benson will be the next Grand Marais Mayor. Benson ran unopposed and won the election with 591 votes.

-Aaron Carlson and Benjamin Peters were elected to the city council. Both candidates ran unopposed. Carlson received 464 votes. Peters received 417 votes.

ISD 166 School Board

-Erik Redix will be the next school board member for District 1. Redix defeated Theresa Donovan. Redix 255 – Donovan 139.

-Rena Rogers will retain her seat as District 3 School Board Member. Rogers defeated opponent Kim Nelson. Rogers 490 – Nelson 196.

-Incumbent District 5 School Board Member Dan Shirley defeated opponent Rae M. Piepho. Shirley 469 – Piepho 159.

-Cook County voters passed the 2022 operating levy referendum renewal. The levy will be renewed for ten years. Yes 2071 – No 764.

Cook County Hospital District

-Hospital Board Member District 1 Patricia Winchell-Dahl ran unopposed and won with 278 votes.

-Hospital Board Member District 5 Randy Wiitala ran unopposed and won with 425 votes.

-There were no candidates who ran for District 3.

Soil and Water

-Supervisor District 1 Gregg Westigard ran unopposed and won with 2278 votes.

-Supervisor District 2 Stanley Tull ran unopposed and won with 2406 votes.

-There were no candidates who ran for District 4.

State and National

-Incumbent Democratic Governor Tim Walz defeated the Republican nominee, former state senator Scott Jensen, winning a second term.

-DFLer Grant Hauschild of Hermantown defeated Republican Andrea Zupancich of Babbitt in the race for District 3 in the state senate.

-District 3A Rep. Rob Ecklund lost his seat in the Minnesota House of Represenatives. Ecklund lost by a total of 37 votes to Republican challenger Roger Skraba.