WTIP file photo

WTIP sets candidate forums, see who filed for county board

There are two seats up for election this year on the Cook County Board of Commissioners. The seats are for district two and district four, currently held by Myron Bursheim and Heidi Doo-Kirk, respectively.

The filing period to run for county board ended June 2.

As noted below, Bursheim has filed for reelection in 2020. Doo-Kirk, a two-term incumbent, has not filed. WTIP has reached out to Doo-Kirk for an interview about why she opted not to run for reelection.

Due to ongoing concerns about the coronavirus pandemic, the election process this year is likely to be somewhat different, according to Cook County Auditor-Treasurer Braidy Powers. Click here for more on local elections in 2020.

In addition, WTIP’s traditional candidate primary forums will be different this year. The primaries will be done live on WTIP in late July, with participants joining via a Zoom conference call. The primaries will remain interactive with WTIP listeners, and calls can come in during the live broadcasts. This year’s county commissioner primary forums on WTIP will be as follows:

  • District 2, Wednesday, July 29 at 7 p.m.
  • District 4, Thursday, July 30 at 7 p.m.

The candidates who filed for each district this year are as follows:

  • District 2: Myron Bursheim (incumbent), Stacey Hawkins and Jaye White.
  • District 4: Dean Berglund, Charles Christiansen, Ann Sullivan and Steve Watson.

A primary election determines which candidates will be on the ballot in the November general election. Primary election day in Cook County is Tuesday, Aug. 11.

The general election in Tuesday, Nov. 3.